A password-protected directory is a folder which cannot be accessed unless the correct login details are provided. This can be an entire site or only a single page which is located within a subfolder. If you try to open this kind of a directory, you will see a browser pop-up in which you will need to type a username and also a password. If you type in the correct ones, you will be able to continue exploring the content with no need to do anything extra. In case the login credentials are not right, however, you will see information that you aren't permitted to see the content. In case this function is activated, you will not be able to open a file even though you may have a direct link. The function is incredibly effective if you wish to limit the access to some content or if you are creating a site and you don't want visitors to be able to access it before it's ready.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Web Hosting
All of our shared web hosting include a very useful tool that will enable you to protect any folder in your account from unauthorized access with simply 2 mouse clicks. Once you log in to your Hepsia web hosting CP, you'll simply have to navigate to the Password Protection section, to select the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which has to be secured - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to type in the username and the password which have to be used to access the content in question. The function shall be active straightaway, so if you try to open the folder/website, you'll be prompted to input the login information. You can create or remove numerous usernames for the very same folder, if needed. If you go to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders shall be shown with a compact padlock icon.